Unforgettable Physics Nobel Prize winners in history

adminFebruary 25, 2019

The award for Nobel Prize in physics started in 1901, and has since been awarded a number of 112 times between then and 2018. Many distinguished individual have been deserving of this award, and have duly received this. It is important to note that all these winners are highly placed. However, this article will highlight some individuals as the top Nobel Prize winners for physics so far.

 Some of them are:

  1. Albert Einstein: Commonly referred to as the greatest physicist, he developed the theory of relativity and quantum physics. He won the award for Nobel Prize in Physics in 1921, and has since become a household name.
  2. Wilhlem Conrad: He was the first physicist to be awarded a Nobel Prize in Physics in the year 1901. His detection and production of what is now known as X-ray earned him the award. In recognition of this, there is a world celebration for Radiology which is always celebrated on the 8th of November every year.
  3. Antoine Henri Becquerel: Antoine was the first person to discover radioactivity, and he gained the Nobel Prize award in Physics in 1903.However, he shared this award with two other people in that year; Pierrie Curie and Marie Curie as they aided him in his research. He was a renowned person in the fields of chemistry and physics.
  4. John Williams Strutt: In 1911, he received the Nobel Prize award in physics for his work on heat radiation and the laws governing it.
  5. Arthur Ashkin: Fondly referred to as the father of optical tweezers, he stand as the latest Nobel Price award in physics winner. He was awarded this award at the age of 96 in 2018. However, there are 2 other extra winners of the award for the year 2018.
  6. Jack Kilby: He is an American electrical engineer who won the Nobel Prize award in physics in 2000. His work that gave way to him winning this prize was his part in the invention of integrated circuit. He is also the co-inventor of thermal printer and handheld calculator. He excelled excellently well in the fields of physics and electrical engineering.
  7. Ernst Ruska: Meet the man who designed the first electron microscope. This earned him the Nobel Prize award in physics in 1986. From this design, his discovery demonstrates that a magnetic coil could act as an electron lens.
  8. Dennis Gabor: This physicist won the Nobel Prize award in physics in 1971 for inventing Holography. Holography involves the use of holograms which basically entails viewing an image from different angles, and seeing different views.
  9. Donald Glaser: In 1960, he won the Nobel Prize award in physics for his invention of bubble chamber. Bubble chamber is an apparatus that is used to make tracks of ionizing particles visible as a row of bubbles in a liquid. Donald Glaser doubled as a physicist and neurobiologist.
  10. James Chadwick: James won the award for Nobel Prize in physics in 1935, for the discovery of neutron which has become very essential and popular in physics today.

Leave a comment

Name *
Add a display name
Email *
Your email address will not be published